Posted by: freesystem | February 23, 2008

New Project: My own Linux Distro

I have tried many other Linux distros, and have finally settled on just compiling one myself. It is going to be very customizable and elegant, but not bloated. I am going to include the following packages, as well as the very basic required ones:

  • KDE3.5, and offer a version with KDE4.0.1
  • An assortment of KDE apps
  • A severely customized version of conky
  • Alien
  • Python
  • GCC
  • Perl
  • Ruby
  • And many more that I think of while compiling

I will offer a disk image to anyone that wants one, but I don’t think it will grow into anything big. Please sound off your suggestions in the comments, any programs or new features you want me to include. Also, if anyone wants to make artwork for it, or has a name please let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

Categories

