Posted by: freesystem | February 23, 2008

Idea: [Almost] Fool Proof Backup System

Well, after losing a ton of data from my flash drive dying, I got an idea for a really secure backup scheme. Here is goes:

Each computer has a separate /home partition.  This partition is cloned to a local server every few minutes for speedy backups, then less frequently to a remote server.  My other two computers also sync there /home partitions with the local server.  This allows my data to be very redundant, and perfectly synced.   Ill post some more details when I get it running. The only issues I think it would run into was if more then one person was using my three computers at one time, and modifying the same file. This could be resolved by a simple but annoying diff.

Leave a Reply

Categories

